AppsCare | Disable downloading, printing and copying of any Google Drive file - AppsCare
AppsCare is a Google for Work Premier Partner in the UK and specialises in the deployment of Google Apps for Work, Google Drive for Work, Google for Education, Google Maps for Work, Chrome Devices for Work and Google Search.
google enterprise premier partner, google enterprise partner, google enterprise reseller, google apps reseller, google apps partner, google maps reseller, google maps partner, chromebooks reseller, chromebox for meetings, google maps for business, google apps for business, google apps for education, google drive for work, drive for work, google for work, google apps for work, google maps for work, chrome for work, google for work premier partner, google apps for work reseller, uk, google for work uk premier partner, google apps reseller, google apps partner
18667
single,single-post,postid-18667,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.0.5,vc_responsive

16 Jul Disable downloading, printing and copying of any Google Drive file

Disable downloading, printing and copying of any Google Drive file: Google have just launched a long anticipated update that prevents anyone with viewing or commenting rights on a shared file from copying, printing or downloading the file, retaining your confidentiality of the document. 

To get started with this new feature, click on the blue Share button at the top right hand corner of your Google Drive file (Docs, Sheets or Slides).

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 09.23.20

The Share with others window will open.

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 09.23.36

Click on the Advanced button at the bottom right hand corner of the window. You will notice additional ‘Owner settings’ underneath the invite people address bar.

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 09.23.47

There are two options here, the main feature which disables the download, print and copying functionality for viewers or commenters in the document, but you can also prevent any other editors in the document from changing these permissions. If you have concerns over retaining the confidentiality of the file, I would recommend it’s always best to tick both boxes. You will also need to make sure that those people who you want to disable from any of the features, only have view or commenting access. I’m going to tick both these boxes, and invite someone to view my document. Make sure you save your changes before continuing.

disable-viewer

When a viewer now opens the shared file, they will see that they have limited options available to them, as you can see below.

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 09.26.13

You will notice that many options are no longer available. There is also an item in the drop down menu that says ‘Export options disabled’. If a viewer clicks on this button, they will see the following.

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 09.26.48

If you need any help using this feature, please don’t hesitate to contacts us via email at helpmegogoogle@appscare.com.

For more tips and tricks, visit our Google Apps Tips blog.

Claire Stead
cstead@appscare.com
No Comments

Post A Comment